Monday, April 5, 2010

Offensive Line of Decade

The toughest position in college football, the OFFENSIVE LINE. These individuals partake in trench warfare. A constant battle of hand to hand contact that has little or no outside reward or acknowledgement.

OL: Troy Paulsen-2002-2004 Des Plaines, IL (Maine West) started 30 straight games for the Foresters after transferring to Lake Forest as a sophomore. Was a three time all-conference selection for the Foresters, and was named team captain his senior year. He played during the winningest three-year stretch in Forester Football History, including the 2002 conference championship.

OL: Ryan Paulsen-1998-2001 Des Plaines, IL (Maine West)Started 27 games for the Foresters from 1999-2001 was named All-Conference in 2000 and 2001. His first game in 1998 started a 101 game streak in which their was a "Paulsen Brother" on the Forester Football team, ending in 2008 with Tim Paulsen, the only brother to play defensive line.

OL: Justin Ellerman-2003-2007 (missed 2005 season due to injury) Chicago, IL (Loyola) 20 game starter on the offensive line for the Foresters. Was named All-Conference at two positions after the 2007 season (OL and Punter). In addition to his stellar play at offensive line, Ellerman was 5th in the nation, and led the MWC in Punting Average in 2007. In 2007 Ellerman did not give up a single sack on the year.

OL: Ben Larkin- 2000-2003 South Milwaukee, WI (South Milwaukee)Started 35 games for the Foresters, including 11 in 2001. Was a three time All-Conference selection, including a First team nod in 2002. Team won the conference championship his junior year.

OL: Larry Rategan 2005-2008 Chicago, IL (St. Patrick’s High School) Started 37 of the 40 games he played in. Between 2006 and 2007 Team had 100 yards or more rushing in 13 of the 20 contests they played. Played in 40 consecutive games. A two time all Midwest Conference selection.

HM: Tyler Johnston, Juan Martinez